Image Courtesy of: Dot Com Dot Au Image Library

Tander-Davison Win 2009 Bathurst 1000

published  First Published: 11/10/2009
Article written by: Nigel Brookson


Garth Tander and Will Davison win 2009 Bathurst 1000 endurance touring car race today, as car manufacturer Holden ended a four-year losing streak by sweeping the race's first three placings.

Tander won Australia's most iconic auto race for the second time, adding to his win in 2000, while his co-driver Davison claimed his first Bathurst victory with a drive which overcame testing weather conditions.

Jason Richards and Cameron McConville were second behind the winning Holden Dealer Team pair while Lee Holdsworth and Michael Caruso, also in a Holden, were third.

Tander, 32, and Davison, 27, led for most of the 161 laps of the Mt. Panorama circuit at Bathurst in New South Wales state. They gained a vital break, moving from third to first, when the two leading cars pitted with the safety car on the track 20 laps from the finish.

"It's absolutely awesome. Words can't describe it," Tander said.

"What a result for the team, absolutely fantastic. What a race for Holden and what a way to come back. We had a really fast car and did a really good job in the pit stops."

Tander and Davison started from pole position and followed a strategy which coped with passing rain showers which affected much of the race, changing pitstop tactics.

The Holden teams of Greg Ritter and David Besnard, Mark Skaife and Greg Murphy were first and second when Ford driver Dean Canto crashed on lap 141, bringing out the safety car.

The two leading pairs headed for the pits, handing the lead and the advantage in the race to Tander and Davison, who had stopped for fuel three laps earlier.

Tander opened a five-second advantage before the safety car returned to the track with three laps remaining, creating a sprint for the other podium positions.

Ford Performance Racing drivers Mark Winterbottom and Steven Richards were the notable casualties of the race, quitting when their car spectacularly caught fire on lap 50.

A loose battery ruptured fuel lines, causing a blaze which was put out in pit lane by rival team fire crews.

The race was watched by a crowd estimated at 180,000, many of whom stayed the weekend.

Final Results, Positions of the cars that finished.

  1. W Davison/G Tander
  2. McConville/J Richards +0.760
  3. Holdsworth/Caruso +3.384
  4. Skaife/Murphy +3.388
  5. Lowndes/Whincup +4.658
  6. Noske/Bargwanna +5.949
  7. Morris/Slade +8.032
  8. T Kelly/R Kelly +10.341
  9. Ritter/Besnard +10.470
  10. D'Alberto/A Thompson +10.720
  11. Reindler/Bright +12.720
  12. Reynolds/Priaulx +12.861
  13. Van Gisbergen/A Davison +1:09.283
  14. Perkins/Wood 1 Lap
  15. Ingall/O Kelly 1 Lap
  16. Owen/Price 1 Lap
  17. McNally/Ricciardello 1 Lap
  18. L Tander/Wall 1 Lap
  19. Gaunt/McIntrye 1 Lap
  20. Collins/Pretty 5 Laps
  21. Dumbrell/Baird 8 Laps
  22. Lowe/Assaillit 10 Laps
  23. A Jones/B Jones 16 Laps
  24. Johnson/Courtney 30 Laps



sport tags

Tags: Bathurst, Motorsport, Racing, Sport, Holden, Ford, Tander, Bathurst 1000, 2009, Garth Tander, Will Davison



If you enjoyed reading this article Tander-Davison Win 2009 Bathurst 1000; share it with your friends & the world.



Comments made on Tander-Davison Win 2009 Bathurst 1000